Happy Gotcha Day, Mama Cat

DSCN0119

Four years ago I received a call from my sister-in-law saying that her friend wanted to go see her mother for Thanksgiving and needed someone to cat-sit her cat until Monday. If she couldn’t find a sitter she was just going to take the cat to the animal shelter (a kill shelter).

I asked a few questions and learned the cat was ten years old and not friendly with other cats. Hmmm. I didn’t want to do it, but decided to set up the kennel and keep her. I knew a ten year old cat would not be adopted and would end up another sad statistic if left at the shelter.

DSCN0141

They arrived with the cat, a pure white beauty named “Mama”. I was told she had never been spayed due to a heart murmur. I asked if she had had kittens (due to her name) and was told no. She had always been an inside cat, said her owner.

The owner had brought a litter box, food and water dishes, and a big container of cat food. I thought that was nice, to not make me provide all the necessities while Mama was visiting. She even brought some cat litter.

When time came to take Mama from the carrier, she attacked her owner. The woman promptly slapped her and grabbed her roughly by the scruff of the neck. Pulling Mama from the carrier, she gave Mama a good shake and another hard slap in the face before tossing her into the kennel.

My sister-in-law and her friend left soon after Mama was in the kennel.

I never saw the woman again. Monday came and went with no word. I called my sister-in-law and questioned when her friend was going to return for her cat. Finally the woman called and told me she had moved across country and if I didn’t want Mama I could take her to the animal shelter.

IMG00078

By then Mama had been here several weeks. I let her out of the kennel and learned quickly she had issues. Sudden movements, especially toward her face would elicit an immediate defense attack. She was fearful of everyone and every animal. The poor kitty was a nervous wreck.

It took over a year before I could safely pet her. To this day, four years later, I am the only one who can handle her without serious injury. Even now, there are times she reverts back into fear and paranoia and I have to be careful.

She roams the downstairs, lurking around the woodshop and craft room, climbing on shelves and watching chipmunks from the windows. She has made friends with Maggie Mae. Maggie loves the downstairs rooms too, and spends much of each day with Mama.

This Thanksgiving weekend marks the fourth year Mama has been at Shady Hollow. She is our “problem child” and our sweet baby all in one. Mama will live out her life here. She has her forever home.

Happy Gotcha Day, Mama. Finally, when all is said and done, you are loved.

~ The Kitties Mommy

6 Comments

Filed under Mama Cat

6 responses to “Happy Gotcha Day, Mama Cat

  1. That poor precious baby was abused by her former owners. Thank God she was brought to you. If I had witnessed such treatment to a defenseless cat I would have smacked the hair off of her head for her!! Thank you for taking her and understanding why she behaves the way she does. Ten years of conditioning in that manner..no wonder the poor girl is traumatized. You are an angel.

  2. Catmama

    Thank you for taking this poor baby in to your loving home. I cannot imagine the abuse she must have suffered from the her prior “human” (I use that term loosely). I’m thinking I would have done the same thing as the previous commenter – “helped” her out of my house forcefully. There is no way this precious baby should ever have gone back to her. God does move in mysterious ways – bringing her to you. Again, thank you for showing her that there is love, compassion and understanding in this world.

    • walksalone

      I was in total shock that anyone would be so mean to a frightened animal. They turned an left as soon as Mama was in the kennel, so I didn’t have a chance to do what I wanted to do. I was praying she wouldn’t come back, and those prayers were answered. Believe me, the atmosphere in the cottage dropped 50 degrees when she mishandled Mama in such a way. Should she dare to show up now, she wouldn’t get in the door.

  3. This is such a happy ending for an abused cat. I have no understanding of how anyone can do this. I’m so happy that she did not return for her. Thank God, she is now in a good loving home. I am owned by a cat, Kassey, female and I rescued her from the animal shelter. She blogs too on blogspot and sometimes here as well. I found you on Rambling1on. Thankfully, I will get your updates.

  4. Happy Gotcha Day, Mama Cat!

    And thank you so much for taking care of this beautiful girl. All animals deserve love and a safe home — even if they don’t show their love back as much as others do. She appreciates you!

    Give her a smooch from Cute! 🙂

    • walksalone

      Thank you so much. Every now and then she’ll let me have a snuggle. It’s been a slow go, but we’re getting there. I’ll give her that smooch as soon as she is in the mood. 🙂

Leave a Reply

